Horror movies for your Halloween movie night.

Welcome All Vistors to This Blogs First Ever “Must See  Horror Movies for Halloween List” Written By This Blogs Very Own “Labruja78”. She is a Homegirl of Mine a Fellow “Cenobite” Traveling Thru The Corridors of “The Labyrinth” Experiencing Unknown Pleasures Who is a Huge fan of the Horror Genre with a Truely Unique But Very Interesting Point of View of Things in The Genre Which I Think Fans of The Genre Will Take Pleasure in.

I Hope You Enjoy The Post Which is The Dawn of Another Era in This Blogs History.

I’am new to writing on a blog but I hope you bare with me?! I fell in love with the horror genre when I was 8 hiding behind the couch hoping my mom wouldn’t catch me and I been a horror junkie since. haha Fall is my favorite season and Halloween is my favorite holiday. Around this time of year I become worse than a 2-year-old on a sugar high with decorating, costumes(like dressing my friends)movies, and Halloween treats. I am no horror guru(ask Alphaomega I constantly ask him “who played in this?” “the movies with?”)so if you have a movie or need to correct me as I post please comment. I would like to re-introduce or introduce old, underground or Bad B-rated horror movies. A review on movies or whatever catches my attention or when I feel the need to get on my soap box. lol I am a book-worm so maybe a book or Author or anything else of horror. I posted below Horror movies that every year in October in celebration of Halloween I watch myself. Around August I like looking for old movies or new movies that I like and get them together and have my own scare fest. I hope you enjoy my choices?! Happy Halloween.

Jack-o came out 1995 a low-budget comedy horror Directed by Steven Latshaw. Written by Brad Linaweaver, Patrick Moran, and Fred Olen Ray starring scream queen Linnea Quigley. A wizard was put to death but swore vengeance on the town , particularly the Kelly’s family. accidentally unleashed by teens jack-o has returned and young Sean Kelly must stop him.  If you enjoy bad B-rated horror like me you will be entertained with the bad acting and silly effects. For Halloween I find this movie a good choice.                                                                                                                                                                                                               

 Pumpkinhead a horror thriller came out 1988 Directed by Stan Winston. Written by Ed Justin and Mark Patrick starring Lance Henricksen( great actor which anything he acts in I must watch) and Jeff East. After his son is accidentally killed by teenagers. He has a witch conjure up pumpkinhead a vengeance demon. I have watched all the sequels but prefer the original story. How far are you willing to go and how much you willing to lose(even if it’s your own morals or soul)for what you feel is owed or been wronged?! I love the creature  pumpkinhead it is not identical to the “Alien” creature but they look like they could be related(haha)theres similarities there. The music, creepy old lady, and the weather create an evil night for death.

Nightmare on Elm Street  came out 1984 a horror Directed and Written by Wes Craven. Starring Heather Langenkamp, Johnny Depp(1st role) and Robert Englund(freddy kreuger). Child killer Fred Krueger found away through dreams to seek his revenge on the children of the lynch mob that killed him. Now Nancy and her friends must stay awake and rid themselves of Freddy before he kills them one nightmare at a time. This was my 1st horror to ever watch and it scared the mess out of me. My poor younger sister had to follow me through house turning lights off and sit with me while I showered..lol. After this I was addicted and haven’t looked back since. Besides the original I like the dream sequels “Dream Warriors 3″(1987) and “Dream Master 4″(1988).

Friday the 13th came out 1980 horror thriller mystery Directed by Sean S. Cunningham. Written by Victor Miller and Ron Kurz starring Betsy Palmer, Kevin Bacon, and Adrienne King. Camp counselors are being stalked and murdered for re-opening a summer camp “Camp crystal lake” where a child drowned. Betsy Palmer played a great psycho I wish someone would come up with a doll that looks like her character and make it vocal “Kill her, mommy, kill her!” “Don’t let her get away, mommy!” “Don’t let her live!” eck scary but I want it..lol. Right now I am enjoying the AMC “Friday the 13th” marathon but after so long the stories get boring mainly concentrating on the gore factor. A pet peeve of mine is seeing people walking around with anything except a machete and saying they are jason..watch the movies he don’t carry a chainsaw that’s leatherface…pfft ok off soap box.

Halloween came out 1978 horror thriller Directed and Written by John Carpenter starring Jamie Lee Curtis and Donald Pleasence. Michael Myers a psychotic murder that’s been institutionalized since childhood, Has escaped. I like both Carpenters and Zombie’s version. Both can be true a child from a “Good” home becoming violent or psychotic while other siblings are not or come from a “Bad” home and all but 1 don’t follow parents wrong ways or become what neglect and abuse creates an unstable person. I think after sequel 5 it went down hill still watchable but now it is throw any story against the wall and hope it sticks just add gore $$ is the main focus now.  

The Funhouse came out 1981 a horror mystery thriller Directed by Tobe Hopper. Written by Lawrence Block starring Elizabeth Berridge, Shawn Carson, Jeanne Austin, and Jack McDermott. Four teenage friends decide to spend the night in a carnival funhouse and now a man in a Frankenstein mask is stalking them. The deformed man I actually felt sorry for him he just wants a girlfriend.haha Till this day you wont catch me in a funhouse this movie still freaks me out. It gets people telling stories they heard as a kid about this kid a friend told them that was killed, molested or disappeared after going into a funhouse or the weird guy in a clown costume touching everyone..lol  you know you have one or heard!

Child’s Play came out 1988 horror mystery thriller Directed and Written by Tom Holland. Written By Don Mancini and John Latiai starring Catherine Hicks, Chris Sarandon, and Brad Douriff. Young Andy Barclay gets the doll he wanted, However he didn’t know it was alive! When this movie came out kids I knew who had the doll “My Buddy” started throwing them in the trash..lol. My brother had one and he hide it in the basement and was afraid to go down afterwards. Damn I want a “My Buddy” doll now!

Hellraiser came out in 1987 horror Directed and Written by Clive Barker based off his novel “The Hellbound Heart”(I have not read). Starring Andrew Robinson, Ashley Laurence, and Doug Bradley(Pinhead). Unfaithful wife finds the zombie of her lover , who is being chased by demons for escaping their tortures hell. After you watch this 1st one put Hellraiser 2(1988) right in they go hand in hand with each other but this one is Directed by Tony Randell and Peter Atkins stars in this one. Love Pinhead and the same with Betsy Palmer I want a Pinhead doll “No tears, please!” “It’s a waste of good suffering.” “We’ll tear your soul apart!” “You solved the box, We come, Now you must come with us, taste our pleasures.” “Your suffering will be legendary, even in hell!” “No more deals child, it is your flesh we want to experience!”. I Love the franchise but i have to admit a few of the sequals where WTF but watchable and a few of the other sequals to me felt like they were good movies but they where no hellraiser movie didn’t feel the story was right. Nervous about the remake which seems to be the trend for past few years don’t create new movies or characters just copy what worked for others and add lots of gore…ok off soap box again.

Texas Chainsaw Massacre came out 1974 horror mystery thriller Directed and written by Tober Hopper also written by Kim Henkel starring Marilyn Burns. On the their way to  friends Grandfathers old home they are hunted down and terrorized by a chainsaw wielding killer and his family. I still get a laugh at friends, family or people I meet who still believe this is a true story. I have to admit I also believed it I mean the movies said so right..haha plus I asked my mom she came from texas she said grave robbing did happen and people were disappearing all the time around where she lived as a kid that is why they moved to Ohio. Also my grandmother didn’t help with her constant don’t go out alone don’t look out the window people will take you sell your organs, sex, or eat you. ya she really freaked me out to this day not a big fan of texas. I think that’s why this movies even though I know not true story affects me more than other horror films. Also wanted to bring an Australian film called “Night of fear” aka “Terryrod’s night of fear” came out 1972 horror Directed and written by Terry Bourke. A woman is being hunted by a deranged man. This movie has no dialog just her screaming heavy breathing but words are not needed you catch on really quick. This movie to me has similarities to “Texas chainsaw massacre” I had to show it and get your opinions?!

The Mummy came out 1932 drama fantasy horror Directed by Karl Freud. Written by Nina Wilcox Putnam, Richard Schayner, and John L. Balderston starring Boris Karloff(great actor) and Zita Johann. Ancient Egyptian prince Imhotep who was buried alive for sacrilege his tomb has been found within it is the scroll of Thoth which brings the dead back to life. unfortunately a scholar read the scoll of Thoth and now the world may end. When I was little I use to watch all the mummy movies and want to be anarcheologists  see the pyramids, mummy’s, pharaohs, and learn about the Egyptian Gods. For Halloween you have to watch a mummy movie. Also check out the “Hammer Horror” collection

Phantasm came out 1979 fantasy horror sci-fi mystery Directed and written by Don Coscarelli. While following his older brother Mike witnesses The Tall Man lifting a coffin by himself. He soon discovers a horrible world where The Tall Man enslaves  reanimated bodies. Me and Alphaomega had a discussion on a war between Pinhead vs The Tall Man I believe it will be epic real gory, violent, interesting cenobites will be formed and some serious silver killer ball stunts but in the end I got my money on Pinhead. What do you think? Have to admit after the 3rd movies I stopped watching so never seen 4 I heard it was ok. I wonder who will remake this movie?!

Frankenstein came out 1931 drama horror sci-fi Directed by James Whale. Written by John L. Balderston based off  Mary Shelley’s novel “Frankenstein” starring Boris Karloff and Mae Clarke. Dr. Frankenstein assembles a living being from parts of exhumed corpses. Another good Halloween movie.

The Wolfman came out 1941 drama horror Directed by George Waggner. Written by Curt Siodmak starring Lon Chaney jr, Claude Rains, and Bela Lugosi. A man returns to his home land, is attacked by a werewolf, and is now infected with only a short amount time until he is one as well. I Love Werewolf movies and books(big book-worm) if they are real(which some say they are or they are one)I would marry one, could you imagine the sex..HOT!! lol If you can recommend to me a good werewolf movie(besides Howling, American werewolf in london, silver bullet, Wolf, and The Wolfman remake) or book in the comments that would be great?!

Dracula came out 1931 fantasy horror Directed by Tob Browning based off Bram Stokers novel “Dracula”. Written by Hamilton Deane starring Bela Lugosi(great actor I love all his movies and I’am actually a big collector of his work) and Helen Chandler. A vampire Count Dracula arrives in England and begins to prey upon young mina. I Love vampires as well when I was a kid I use to leave my windows open hoping I would get bitten and use to throw tantrums if mom would put garlic on the food..lol If you can recommend to me in the comments some good vampire movies(Please no Twilight crap) or books? Some say that vampires are real(You also get people saying they are psychic or sang vampires)it would be cool if they were I would offer my blood bet the bite would be a good adrenaline rush..haha Also recommend “Nosferatu”(1919) it is a silent film but still very good movie.

Night of the living dead came out 1968 horror mystery Directed by George A. Romero written by John A. Russo. A group of people are hiding in a farmhouse from blood thirsty Zombies. I Love zombie movies but don’t want to come back as one so I am getting cremated..haha A great Halloween classic to watch every year I have to watch this movie.

Alfred Hitchcock’s Psycho came out 1960 drama horror mystery thriller Directed by Alfred Hitchcock based of Robert Bloch’s novel “Psycho”. Written by Joseph Stefano starring Anthony Perkins(great actor), Vera Miles, John Gavin, and Janet Leigh. A women on her way to California pulls into The bates Motel run by Norman. A Quiet man who seems to be dominated by his mother. The shower scene I liked but for some odd reason after I watched that scene whenever I’m in the shower I stare at the shower curtain or when washing my hair I will feel a breeze and have to look real quick. haha

The Omen came out 1976 horror mystery Directed by Richard Donner written by David Seltzer starring Gregory Peck and Lee Remick. An American Ambassador learns to his horror that his son is actually the Antichrist. Good movie I like that the kid prevailed and everyone else died I hate when good has to always prevail. The little boy in the movie is so creepy one look at him and you knew this kid is not right. My favorite part is when the nanny goes on the roof and jumps with rope around her neck and says “look Damien it’s all for you!” if he wasn’t crazy already he is now and so are his little guests..lol

The Exorcist came out 1973 drama horror Directed by William Friedkin and written by William Peter Blatty(screen & novel). Starring Ellen Burstyn, Jason Miller, Max Von Sydow, and Linda Blair. A teenager becomes possessed by a mysterious entity, her mother seeks the help of two priests to save her daughter. This movie I have to watch with others because I start hearing and seeing shadows. I still laugh at the vomit scenes and then want guacamole. haha Her going down the stairs on her hands and feet in a back bend trips me out and I feel the need to pray for Linda Blair when she does the crotch scene with the cross..eck. I read the bible rarely but after watching this movies I always feel the need!

Trick ‘r Treat came out 2007 horror thriller Directed and written by Michael Dougherty has a huge all-star cast. Four interwoven stories that occur on Halloween night. I love the character Sam he is so damn cute(I want a Sam doll)I want to dress up as him but haven difficulties on finding footy PJs like the ones he wears for adults. This movies took forever to come out the date kept getting pushed back every year.

Children of the corn came out 1984 horror thriller Directed by Fritz Kiersch based off Stephen King’s short story. Written by George Goldsmith starring Linda Hamilton, Peter Horton, John Franklin, and Courtney Gains. A couple comes to Gatlin a town now run by murderous children to report a murder. Now trapped with little chance of getting out alive. The character Malachi is scary I still don’t like that name whenever I heard it right away I think of this movie. I like this movie and a few of the sequals but I’am mainly disappointed in the way the sequels are turning out wish some newer or older Horror writers or directors would try putting some life back in this franchise.

Demons came out 1985 horror Directed by Lamberto Bava. Written by Dario Argento and Dardano Sacchetti starring Natasha Hovey and Urbano Barberini. While In a movie theater a group of the surviving people must find away out before they are killed and then possessed by demons. If you want to do this movie night right also get “Demons 2″(1986) This time the people are trapped in a 10-story high-rise apartment building. Also while you are at The Video Store grab “The Church” which is believed to be demons 3(1989)A librarian while investigation the church unleashes the demons and trapping people in the church with them.

American Gothic came out 1987 horror Directed by John Hough. Written by Burt Wetanson and Michael Vines starring Rod Steiger, Michael J. Pollard, and Yvonne De Carlo. Six friends fly off on a weekend get away. Forced to land and seek shelter from an eccentric family that turns hospitality into a race for survival. The kids of Ma and Pa made me want to reach through the screen and stab them in the throat if it wasn’t for their voices it was the baby talk coming from grown adults. They seriously played their roles good. haha

Night of the Demons came out 1988 horror Directed by Kevin Tenney written by Joe Augustyn and starring scream queen Linnea Quigley. On Halloween night teens decide to throw a costum party at an abandoned funeral parlor. They awaken some evil spirits after performing a séance with a mirror. I have not seen the remake yet but plan on it soon! I felt it was more comedy than horror it still has horror but I laughed more than anything but it still is a good movie and I enjoyed all of the sequels you just can’t take this movie to seriously. The scene with Linnea Quigley was the best for me watching her put on lip stick after becoming a demon and molesting herself was too much. It has action, effects, creepy music, good story, and demons so get this and the sequels pop some popcorn and snuggle in.

Day of the women aka I spit on your grave came out 1978 horror thriller Directed and written by Meir Zarchi starring Camille Keaton. After being repeatedly gang raped, humiliated and left for dead by five men. Jennifer seeks out her attackers one by one and gets her revenge. There is a 2o10 remake out now and I plan on going to see it. The rapes are violent and are not for the weak or sensitive. I did get my moments of irritation at her being repeatedly raped and because of me feeling her rage I think it helped me enjoy her extreme ways of killing her attackers. haha

The Amityville horror came out 1978 Directed by Staurt Rosenberg. Written by Sandor Stern and Jay Anson starring James Brolin, Margot Kidder, and Rod Steiger. After moving into their new home George and Kathy Lutz start experiencing strange manifestations in their home. Where decades earlier  murders had taken place. The scene with the flies always gross me out they were on his face..yuck! The sequals in This franchise really went out there no longer was it about the house but clocks and doll house etc. I liked the remake but really didn’t feel it was a remake but more a sequel with the ketch em kill em story line.

Re-Animator came out 1985 comedy horror sci-fi Directed and written by Stuart Gordon(This is Mr. Gordon’s first film)based off a story by H.P. Lovecraft. Written by Dennis Paoli and William Norris starring David Gale and Jeffrey Combs. Dr. West created a serum that brings the dead back to life , but he is just looking to experiment with it on humans. This movie has blood, violence, a zombie talking head, great one liners, and dark humor that makes for a good movie. I believe there is supposed to be another Re-Animator in production right now?! If so I will definitely go see it. Stuart Gordon went on to direct From Beyond, Dolls, The Dentist & part 2, and episodes for Showtimes Masters of Horror. Stuart Gordon is known for his Love of H.P. Lovecraft novels, gore, bizarre characters, and pushing further than other Directors to get that shock value. 

Puppet Master came out 1989 drama horror sci-fi thriller Directed by David Schmoeller written by Charles Band and Kenneth J. Hall. Andre Toulon’s puppets have come to life and begin stalking and killing their unwanted guests. I want the toy chest with all the puppets!! I like jester the puppet that’s face spins from happy to sad and tunneler the one with the drill on his head. Miss leach the girl gipsy puppet that brings up the slugs always has me dry heaving in the corner..seriously can’t watch her. With each movie they tell more of a back ground history on Andre Toulon and how the puppets came to be I even like the corny ones.

The slumber party massacre came out 1982 Directed by Amy Holden Jones and written by Rita Mae Brown. A high school girl decides to have a slumber party but does not invite the new girl. Unfortunately a murderer decides to crash their party and now they need the new girls help in order to survive the night. the killer uses a drill a lot he kinda reminds me of the 70s movie “Driller Killer” and the nudity didn’t bother me I like porn..lol. Beside in the 80’s if there was no nudity it was shocking 80’s horror seemed more like horror porn.

Alice Sweet Alice aka Communion aka Holy Terror came out 1976 horror mystery thriller Directed and written by Alfred Sole. Written by Rose Mary Ritvo starring Paula E. Sheppard and Brooke Shields. After her sister is murdered Alice becomes the main suspect.

From Beyond came out 1986 fantasy horror thriller sci-fi Directed and written by Staurt Gordan based-off of a H.P.Lovecraft’s novel “From Beyond”. Written by Brain Yuzna Dennis Paoli starring Jeffrey Combs, Barbara Crampton, Ted Sorel, Ken Foree, and Carolyn Purdy-Gordon. Two Scientists discover a way to open your sixth sense and doing so open up a hostile parallel universe. The scene where the girl is being stripped by the deformed guy then he attempts to swallow her whole still shocks and creeps me out and the weird worm thing coming out their forehead. Also there is a Directors uncut version! As crazy as this movie is and how many bad nights I had from watching this movie I will be buying that DVD!

23 Comments

  1. I liked the article but the site is a bit slow.

  2. There is obviously a lot to know about this. I think you made some good points in Features also.
    Keep working ,great job!

    • Thanks alot I really appreciate your kind words.

  3. hi I was luck to approach your blog in digg
    your Topics is marvelous
    I obtain much in your blog really thanks very much
    btw the theme of you site is really impressive
    where can find it

    • Thanks for The Compliments I’am Focusing On Quality with This Blog and It’s Cool You Got a Lot of Information From The Blog. The Theme I Use is Called “Neo-Sapien” and I Found It Here On WordPress.com.

    • Sorry for the late responce. I am so gald you read and enjoyed my 1st ever post and I hope to do more soon. Thanks again 🙂

  4. Good day I was fortunate to seek your blog in bing
    your post is fine
    I learn much in your theme really thank your very much
    btw the theme of you site is really magnificentsuper
    where can find it

    • This Post is From My HomeGirl “Labruia78” Who is Another Author On This Blog This is Her First Post She Will Be Happy You are a Fan of Her Post.

      Thanks again About The Compliment About The Theme The Information You Looking for is in My Response to Your First Comment.

  5. I am on cloud 9 and really happy I got positive responces. I have to admit I was worried since never wrote on a blog before and no horror guru people would read this and think “she is an idiot”..haha. Thanks again 🙂

  6. Super-Duper web site! I’m loving it!! Will come back again once more – taking you feeds also, Thanks.

    • Thanks for taking the time to read and the compliment. Woking on my next post now.

  7. […] by Yahoo! Answers Mouse here for Related LinksHorror movies for your Halloween movie night. Share and […]

  8. This is a great blog you have here

  9. I like the valuable information you provide to your articles. I will bookmark your blog and test once more here frequently. I’m fairly certain I?ll learn many new stuff right right here! Best of luck for the next!

  10. I don’t even know how I finished up right here, however I thought this put up was great. I do not recognize who you are but definitely you are going to a well-known blogger for those who are not already. Cheers!

  11. Well that is an intriguing point of view, gratitude for the time and energy with the research. This blog gets book-marked certainly!

  12. I like this post, enjoyed this one thanks for putting up.

  13. I?d must verify with you here. Which is not something I normally do! I get pleasure from reading a post that can make people think. Additionally, thanks for permitting me to remark!

  14. Great piece of data that you’ve received on this web site submit. Hope I might get some additional of the stuff on your own website. I will occur again.

  15. I quite agree with your submission, however, lam having problem subscribing to your rss

  16. Hey are using WordPress for your blog platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own. Do you need any html coding knowledge to make your own blog? Any help would be really appreciated!

  17. Hey there! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new apple iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the superb work!

  18. I got what you destine, thanks for swing up. Woh I am pleased to conceptualise this website through google. Thanks For Share Horror movies for your Halloween movie night. Alphaomega's Blog.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment